0 comments / Posted by Urban Sage Shop

Whether you like to be on cloud wine or be lager than life, it's crucial to know if your favourite beverage is cruelty-free. Yes, all alcoholic beverages are not vegan. If you’re wondering: Wait. What? How can wine/beer not be vegan? Let us clear things out.

Animal-derived products are often used as fining agents to filter out impurities, clarity, flavour and aroma of the spirits. Some of the most common non-vegan ingredients used in brewing beer or wine-making process are:

Egg White: Most traditional wine makers use egg white as a fining agent to clean the wine before bottling.

Gelatin: Usually used in red wines as a fining agent, gelatin is derived from animal tissues.

Isinglass: Most breweries use isinglass, derived from fish bladders, as a fining agent to clarify their beers.

Milk & Cream: Some beers and liqueurs use dairy products to give a rich, creamy flavour.

But there is hope. Many old-school and new brands are fermenting and brewing some delicious alcoholic beverages using carbon, bentonite clay, plant casein e.t.c. Here’s a list of vegan wine and beers keep in mind on your next shopping spree:

1.TILT

Fratelli’s wine cans are vegan, gluten-free and packed in recyclable cans. There are five flavours to choose from Red Wine, White Wine, Bubly, Bubbly Rose & NOI Spritzer. These wines use special gelatin made from chickpeas to ensure the final product is devoid of any animal-based ingredients.

2. Carlsberg

Originally a Danish company but now manufacturing in India, Carlsberg beers are vegan. The company has officially stated that they don’t use any animal-derived ingredients in the production of their beers. Each bottle is stamped with a ‘green’ symbol and it's easily available all over India.

3. Sula Wines

Committed to sustainable vine-making practices and eco-friendly methods, Sula makes vegan-friendly wines without using any animal products in the manufacturing or processing of their wines. All their wines are bottled at their facility in Nashik.

4. Bira 91

While there is no information about this on their website, their official spoke person has mentioned that “Currently all our beers are vegan. We do not use isinglass or gelatin at Bira 91.”

5. Reveilo Wines

A boutique winery that started in 2005 in Niphad, Nashik, Reveilo Wines exclusively uses estate-grown grapes combined with Italian technology to make high-quality wines. It has almost a dozen wines in its repertoire, all of which are vegan.

6. Budweiser

Arguably one of the most popular beer brands in the world, Budweiser is indeed vegan-friendly. The original Budweiser, Bud Light, and the fruity Bud Light Straw-Ber-Ita and Bud Light Lime-A-Rita are also vegan.

7. Rhythm Wines

If you’re in the mood for a fruity wine look no further. Rhythm Wines offer the best tropical fruit wines in flavours such as pineapple, strawberry, kiwi, peach, plum and Alphonso. The vinery uses bentonite clay as a fining agent instead of the traditional animal-based ingredients.

8. Corona

Although the brand may have lost some of its charm post-pandemic, the Mexican pale lager is vegan. Known for its light, refreshing taste with a fruity aroma, Corona Lite is what the summers ordered.

If you want to find out about your favourite wine or beer brand being vegan or not, search on barnivore.

Comments

Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing